Legends League Cricket 2022: All you need to know

Legends League Cricket

The inaugural edition of the Legends League Cricket tournament, which will begin on 20th January, will feature only three teams- Asian Lions, India Maharajas, World Giants.

The squads for the upcoming Legends League Cricket were announced recently.

India Maharajas:

Sachin Tendulkar, who had featured in the recent Road Safety Series, had decided to skip this tournament. Though this is a big blow for the fans worldwide, the team does feature some of the swashbuckling cricketers including Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag.

Virender Sehwag’s attacking ability doesn’t need any introduction. He will be partnered by Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Naman Ojha at the top. The former Indian batting coach Sanjay Bangar has been named in the squad as well. 

The middle order of the team will see Yuvraj Singh, Badrinath. The Pathan brothers are back together as well. Among the spinners, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha are two of the most famous names while Manpreet Gony, RP Singh, Munaf Patel will take care of the pace attack.

In the squad, Pathan brothers, Munaf Patel, Manpreet Gony are still around and can be seen in multiple local tournaments. While most of the other players have taken up coaching roles, Harbhajan Singh played competitive cricket until the last IPL and had decided to retire recently.

India Maharajas squad:

Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, and Amit Bhandari.

Asia Lions:

Asia Lions will feature legends from various parts of Asia excluding the Indian team. Most of the stars are from either Pakistan or Sri Lanka. The top order of the team consists of legends from the Sri Lankan team.

Tillakaratne Dilshan will be accompanied by the legendary Sanath Jayasuriya at the top. The batting order will also feature Upul Tharanga and the keeper Romesh Kaluwitharana. 

Among Pakistan stars, Misbah Ul Haq is back with his favorite cricketing partner Mohammed Yousuf. The team will also witness the recently retired Mohammed Hafeez and Shoaib Malik. 

Among the all-rounders, Shahid Afridi, Azhar Mahmood is the team’s main man. Kamran Akmal will take care of the keeping while Shoaib Akhtar and Chaminda Vaas will lead the pace attack. The bowling department will also feature the legends Muttiah Muralitharan. Asghar Afghan is the only player to feature from the Afghanistan side.

Asia Lions Squad:

Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kamran Akmal, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, and Umar Gul, Asghar Afghan

Rest of the World:

As the name indicates, the team comprises players from the rest of the World other than Asian players. Compared to the other two teams, the rest of the World team is relatively younger in terms of experience with most of the players still around and are connected with the game in one way or the other. 

The batting department of the team will see South Africa’s Herschelle Gibbs opening the innings with Zimbabwe’s Brendan Taylor. Jonty Rhodes, Kevin Pietersen, Corey Anderson will follow. Kevin O’Brien Owais Shah, Albie Morkel along Daren Sammy will bat in the middle order. 

Brad Haddin will take care of the keeping duties while Brett Lee and Morne Morkel will lead the pace attack. New Zealand’s Daniel Vettori has been named in the squad as well. While all these players have officially retired from international cricket, Imran Tahir is still around. In fact, he will directly get into this tournament from the Sharjah CBFS T20 tournament. 

Rest of the World Squad:

Daren Sammy, Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Kevin Pietersen, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien, and Brendan Taylor.


January 20, 2022: India Maharajas vs Asia Lions, 8 PM IST

January 21, 2022: Wolrd Giants vs Asia Lions, 8 PM IST

January 22, 2022: World Giants vs India Maharajas, 8 PM IST

January 24, 2022: Asia Lions vs India Maharajas, 8 PM IST

January 26, 2022: India Maharajas vs World Giants, 8 PM IST

January 27, 2022: Asia Lions vs World Giants, 8 PM IST

January 29, 2022: Final, 8 PM IST

Live streaming and broadcasting details:

Sony Network has acquired the rights for the broadcast in India. The match can be witnessed on Sony Ten 1 and Sony Ten 3 channels while there will be live streaming on Sony Liv App.