The weirdest and quirkiest stats on IPL play-offs 

IPL playoffs are in full swing, with RCB set to take on Rajasthan Royals in Qualifier 2 for a place in the final against Gujarat Titans. The play-offs system was first introduced in 2011, while earlier IPL seasons from 2008 to 2010 only had the semis and final matches. As it was observed that a team with a brilliant run in the league stage can have a bad day in knockouts, the IPL management introduced the play-offs in order to give two chances to enter the final to teams finishing in the top two in the league stages. This has produced some weird stats. Here’s a look.

Grab the second spot and be the winner

The team that has taken the second spot in the points table after the league stage has gone on to win the IPL title 7 times out of 11 since 2011 when the play-offs were introduced. Three times Mumbai went on to win the title after taking the 1st spot in the points table. It happened in 2017, 2019, and 2020.

SRH – the lone exception

Since 2011 when play-offs were first introduced in IPL, only one team has gone to win the tournament after winning the Eliminator. It was Sunrisers Hyderabad who won the Eliminator, Qualifier 2, and the final against RCB to win the title in 2016. Can RCB do it in IPL 2022?

W Saha in the lone club

Only one player has ended up on the losing side after cracking a ton in the IPL play-offs. It is W Saha of Kings XI Punjab who struck 115 not out against KKR in the IPL 2014 final but in vain.

CSK – the consistent

Only twice in IPL history that CSK has not made it to the play-offs. The first time it happened was in 2020, and the second time in 2022.

Two times winner by just a run

Two times Mumbai Indians have won a final by just a run. The first came in 2017 IPL final when Mumbai defeated Rising Pune Supergiant by a run. The second time came in 2019 IPL final when they defeated CSK by a run. In both the finals, MS Dhoni and Shardul Thakur were the only two players on the losing team.

Patidar shines

Rajat Patidar is the only uncapped player to strike a ton in the play-offs in IPL when he smashed 112 not out against LSG in the Eliminator in IPL 2022.

MS Dhoni – the regular

No one can beat MS Dhoni in terms of final appearances in IPL. He has been part of 10 IPL finals out of a total of 15 seasons so far. He has won 4 and lost 6 IPL finals.

Karn – the lucky charm

Karn Sharma has been deemed the lucky charm for teams. He has been part of 4 IPL finals, all in winning causes for three different teams – SRH, MI, and CSK (twice). In fact, he has won three straight titles for three different teams in 2016 (SRH), 2017 (MI), and 2018 (CSK).

MI vs CSK for titles

From 2017 to 2021, only two teams – CSK and MI – have won the IPL titles. MI won it three times, and CSK 2 times.

Chargers rises like a phoenix

Deccan Chargers, who were placed last at 8th in 2008 IPL, went on to win the title in 2009.