IPL 2022: Royal Challengers Bangalore squad, venue, Full match details all you need to know

Royal Challengers Bangalore might not have won the trophy yet, but the fan following for the team is sky-high as always. This time, things will be different as Virat Kohli will not be captaining the side for the first time in years. The former Indian captain had stepped down from the role right after the IPL 2021. While the team is yet to announce the new captain, it is reported that Faf du Plessis is likely to take over the captaincy. The team will be hoping that a change in captaincy could bring in the trophy for the team.

RCB Full Schedule

The BCCI on Sunday, March 6th, had announced the schedule for the upcoming edition of the IPL. The upcoming season will begin on March 6th with the defending champions Chennai Super Kings taking on last year’s runners-up Kolkata Knight Riders. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore will be playing their first match on March 27th against Punjab Kings at DY Patil Stadium. This will be the 3rd match of the tournament and is a night match. The team will be playing a couple of afternoon matches in the latter stage of the tournament. Their first 3:30 PM match is against Gujarat Lions at Brabourne stadium on April 30, and they will be playing their next on May 8th where they will be taking on Sunrisers Hyderabad at Wankhede Stadium.

Full schedule for RCB

DateFixtureTime (In IST)Venue
March 27Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 30Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 5Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
April 9Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 12Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 16Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
April 19Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 23Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 26Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 30Gujarat Titans vs Royal Challengers Bangalore3:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
May 4Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
May 8Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore3:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 13Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
May 19Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Titans7:30 PMWankhede Stadium

Squad for RCB

As mentioned earlier, RCB will be announcing their new captain soon and Faf du Plessis is likely to take over the captaincy for the edition. Faf du Plessis, who featured for CSK all these years, will turn up for their arch-rivals this year. This is the first edition since 2011, the team will be without AB de Villiers. The former South African superstar had called it a day right after the IPL 2021. However, according to reports, he has been approached for the Mentor role and he is likely to take up the role. 

Since there was no AB de Villiers, the team went on to retain Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj ahead of the auction. The last year’s purple cap holder Harshal Patel returns to the franchise but with a hefty salary this time. Apart from Harshal, several players like Wanindu Hasaranga, Shahbaz Ahmed, Finn Allen among others to the franchise. 

Dinesh Karthik, who has already featured for RCB years ago, in 2015, will turn up for the franchise once again. Karthik was associated with Kolkata Knight Riders since the 2018 auction. He even went on to captain the side for two seasons before giving up the captaincy to Eoin Morgan. Among other buys, Luvnith Sisodia is one of the interesting talents to watch out for this year. 

RCB Full squad

Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj, Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Behrendorff, Suyash Prabhudessai, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Karn Sharma, David Willey, Luvnith Sisodia, Siddharth Kaul