From Tanvir to Patel: IPL Purple Cap holders

The Indian Premier League is around the corner, and this season, things will be even bigger with ten teams taking part in the tournament. As the tournament gets underway, let’s look into the purple cap winners for each year.

Purple Cap winners since IPL 2008:

IPL 2008: Sohail Tanvir 

The first season of the Indian Premier League witnessed Pakistan players as well. A lot of cricketers from the neighboring country made their way to the team. Among them, Sohail Tanvir did play a major role as he helped Rajasthan Royals to lift the title. Tanvir ended with 22 wickets from just 11 matches and also, had a six-for in the tournament.

IPL 2009: RP Singh

RP Singh ended with 23 wickets from 16 matches while playing for Deccan Chargers. He made sure that the team from Hyderabad lifted the trophy as well. Deccan Chargers defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final to win the trophy. 

IPL 2010: Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha made heads turn as he became the first spinner to win the purple cap. He was playing for DC and ended with 21 scalps in 16 matches while giving away just 7.29 runs per over. He played for the Hyderabad franchise as well.

IPL 2011: Lasith Malinga

2011 was the season that saw the beginning of Mumbai Indians’ growth and Lasith Malinga’s contribution in the same is mammoth. He ended as the leading wicket-taker in the season with 28 wickets from 16 matches. Mumbai ended at the third spot while Chennai Super Kings lifted the trophy that season.

IPL 2012: Morne Morkel 

Morne Morkel announced himself with some brilliance with the ball in the IPL 2012. While playing for Delhi Capitals, he had 25 wickets from 16 matches. He helped Delhi to finish the league stage at the top of the table.

IPL 2013: Dwayne Bravo

DJ Bravo probably had the best season in 2013. Playing for Chennai Super Kings, he led the bowling charge from the front and ended with 32 wickets. He made sure to keep things quiet in the death overs and returned with those magical figures.

IPL 2014: Mohit Sharma

MS Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings had that knack for making superstars over the years, and Mohit Sharma was one of them. The pacer opened the bowling for the team and ended as the leading wicket-taker of the tournament in 2014. He played 16 matches and ended with 23 wickets. 

2015: Dwayne Bravo 

For the third time in a row, a player from Chennai Super Kings went on to win the purple cap. Once again, it was DJ Bravo who led the attack from the front. This time he had 26 wickets from 16 matches. 

2016 and 2017: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The seasons 2016 and 2017 saw complete domination from Bhuvneshwar Kumar. The Sunrisers Hyderabad swing bowler had 23 wickets in the 2016 edition while he had three more in the next edition. 

2018: Andrew Tye

2018 was the season of Andrew Tye. He dominated wherever he went starting from Big Bash League. In the IPL, he played for Punjab and ended with 24 wickets from 14 matches. He also became the first Australian player to win the purple cap. 

2019: Imran Tahir

In the 2019 season, the Purple cap went back to the Chennai Super Kings dugout. This time, it was Imran Tahir. The veteran became the first spinner for CSK to win the cap. He led the attack from the front with 26 wickets from 17 matches. 

2020: Kagiso Rabada

While spinners dominated most of the IPL season, Kagiso Rabada was a class apart in this edition. The Delhi bowler ended with 30 wickets from 17 matches. He became just the second bowler to pick up 30 or more wickets in a season.

2021: Harshal Patel

Despite being around for a long time, Harshal Patel never really got to play a full season and 2021 was his first full season. He grabbed the opportunity with open hands and helped the team to dominate the season. Though he was a bit expensive at times, he was able to pick up wickets regularly and changed the game for his team. He had 32 wickets from 15 matches. During the season, he also equalled DJ Bravo’s record for most wickets in a season.

YearPurple Cap winner Wickets taken
2008Sohail Tanvir 22
2009RP Singh23
2010Pragyan Ojha 21
2011Lasith Malinga 28
2012Morne Morkel 25
2013Dwayne Bravo 32
2014Mohit Sharma 23
2015Dwayne Bravo26
2016Bhuvneshwar Kumar23
2017Bhuvneshwar Kumar26
2018Andrew Tye24
2019Imran Tahir26
2020Kagiso Rabada30
2021Harshal Patel 32