IPL 2022: Players list announced, 590 players shortlisted for the mega-auction

IPL Trophy

The Indian Premier League (IPL) on Tuesday released the list of players who are shortlisted for the upcoming auction. 

Out of 1214 players registered, A total of 590 players with 370 Indian players and 220 overseas players will go under the hammer during the two-day mega auction on February 12 and 13. The mega auction will take place in Bengaluru.

Among the 590 players registered for the auction, 228 players are capped—represented their senior national team, 355 players are uncapped while seven players are from the Associate cricket nation.

Associate players:

The seven players from the Associate Nations who have registered for the upcoming Mega Auction are: 

Three players from Namibia- David Wiese, JJ Smit, Ruben Trumpelmann, 

One player from Nepal- Sandeep Lamichhane, 

Two players from Scotland Brad Wheal, Safyaan Sharif and

One from the USA- Ali Khan 

Marquee Players list:

This year, IPL has reduced the marquee set, and only one big marquee set is available this time.

The set features R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer among the Indians while Trent Boult, Pat Cummins, Faf du Plessis, David Warner are the other players in the Marquee set. 

As many as 48 players have registered with a base price of INR 2 Crore. A list of 20 players has a base price of INR 1.5 Crores while as many as 34 players have gone for INR 1 Crore as their base price.

Among the players, Amit Mishra is the oldest Indian cricketer at 39. He is at the base price of INR 1.5 Crore. Indian T20 World Cup-winning pacer Sreesanth also made the cut for the upcoming auction. 

A huge pool of Under-19 players has entered the auction. Among the Indians– Vicky Ostwal, U19 World Cup captain Yash Dhull, Raj Angad Bawa, Rajvardhan Hangargekar are some of the players who are likely to bag big bucks in this auction. 

The 18-year-old Dewald Brevis, who is nicknamed ‘Baby AB’ is also on the auction list. The South African made heads turn for his technique which is literally a mirror image of former South African cricketer AB de Villiers.

Overseas players list

Among the countries, Australia will have 47 players going under the hammer for the auction. 34 players from West Indies and 33 players from South Africa will feature in the auction. Blessing Muzarabani is the only player from Zimbabwe to get shortlisted here.

Country-wise break down for the overseas players’ list

CountryAuction List
New Zealand24
South Africa33
Sri Lanka23
West Indies34

Where each team stands

FranchisePurse in INR CroresSlot remainingOverseas player slots remainingPlayers retained
Chennai Super Kings482174
Delhi Capitals47.52174
Kolkata Knight Riders482164
Lucknow Super Giants592273
Mumbai Indians482174
Punjab Kings722382
Rajasthan Royals622273
Royal Challengers Bangalore572273
Sunrisers Hyderabad682273
Team Ahmedabad522273

Each team can fill in their squad with as many as 25 players with not more than 8 Overseas players in their team. This time, the tournament will miss some of the big names including Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc among others. Interestingly, Jofra Archer, who is yet to recover from his injury, has been shortlisted for the auction.

List of players retained by each team

Ravindra JadejaRishabh PantAndre RussellRohit SharmaMayank Agarwal
MS DhoniAxar PatelVarun ChakaravarthyJasprit BumrahArshdeep Singh
Moeen AliPrithvi ShawVenkatesh IyerSuryakumar Yadav 
Ruturaj GaikwadAnrich NortjeSunil NarineKieron Pollard 
RRRCBSRHTeam AhmedabadTeam Lucknow
Sanju SamsonVirat KohliKane WilliamsonHardik PandyaKL Rahul
Jos ButtlerGlenn MaxwellAbdul SamadRashid KhanMarcus Stoinis
Yashasvi JaiswalMohammed SirajUmran MalikShubman GillRavi Bishnoi

The upcoming edition of IPL is all set to begin in the month of March and is likely to take place from March 27th. The BCCI is yet to confirm the dates and venue for the cash-rich league. According to reports, Maharashtra is likely to host this year’s IPL. However, there is no official announcement regarding the same.