IPL 2022 performers selected for the T20I series against South Africa 

The Indian selectors announced an 18-member squad for the home T20I series against South Africa to be played from 9th June 2022. Regular players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra all have been rested for this series.

Indian Premier League 2022 saw some brilliant performances from various players. Dinesh Karthik made a comeback into the T20I squad after a gap of 3 years. Hardik Pandya also returns to the Indian squad for 5 match series.

The team will be captained KL Rahul as Rohit Sharma has been rested. Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KL Rahul are three openers included in the squad. Rishabh Pant has been appointed the vice-captain of the team.

Dinesh Karthik has been exceptional for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2022. He has made 287 runs from 14 matches at an amazing strike rate of 191.33. His hitting during death overs created a major impact on the matches. Despite scoring 1 half-century, Karthik shown skills making life tough for the opposition bowlers due to his innovative shots.

Hardik Pandya has been a revelation with the bat leading from the front for Gujarat Titans. He has made 413 runs from 14 matches including 4 half-centuries and helped new franchise to qualify for the playoffs stage.

The other new faces in the squad include Umran Malik who performed brilliantly for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He created a major impact with his pace and troubled the best batsmen in the world. During a disappointing season for SRH, Malik was the shining light with 22 wickets from 14 matches at an economy of 9.03 runs per over. During this tournament, he bowled the fastest delivery in every match SRH played and was given 1 Lakh Rs.

Arshdeep Singh also has been given a maiden call for the Indian team due to his brilliant performance for Punjab Kings. He took a total of 10 wickets from 14 matches at a decent economy of 7.70 runs per over and his ability to bowl yorkers at will yielded the spot for this series.

With Jasprit Bumrah not in the squad, Arshdeep Singh could be given a chance and make a mark in the 5-match series against South Africa.

The spinning department includes Yuzvendra Chahal who has performed brilliantly for Rajasthan Royals so far. Kuldeep Yadav has been given a go due to consistent performances in the IPL 2022 for Delhi Capitals. The left arm-spinner Axar Patel has been included. Ravi Bishnoi has been decent enough for Lucknow Super Giants will be looking to give good performances for Team India.

Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik are the five pace options included for the series.

Indian team for the T20I series against South Africa

KL Rahul (C), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, Venetaksh Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.  

Schedule for the 5 Match T20I series against South Africa

  1. India versus South Africa (Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi)- 9th June
  2. India versus South Africa (Barbati Stadium, Cuttack)- 12th June
  3. India versus South Africa (ACA-VDCA Stadium, Vizag)- 14th June
  4. India versus South Africa (SCA Stadium, Rajkot)- 17th June
  5. India versus South Africa (M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru )- 19th June